Searchshow menu

About the Commission

The Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission (SRCC) is established under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (SRC Act). It is a statutory body that carries out regulatory functions in relation to Comcare and other authorities that determine workers' compensation claims under the SRC Act.

The SRCC is an 11 member body, with members appointed by the Governor-General. The members represent stakeholders in the Commonwealth scheme; three are nominated by the Australian Council of Trade; one represents licensees; one represents the Commonwealth; one is the Chief Executive Officer of Safe Work Australia; one represents members of the Defence Force; one represents ACT Government employees; and two have qualifications and experience relevant to the Commission's functions.

Role of the SRCC

The SRCC administers the regulatory functions of the SRC Act, other than those ascribed to Comcare. Comcare is the regulator for the Commonwealth jurisdiction under the WHS Act and Work Health and Safety Regulations 2011. The Commission has the power to set standards for the work health and safety performance of licensees and is required to satisfy itself that licence applicants have the capacity to meet these standards.


The SRCC has a number of general and specific functions under the SRC and WHS Acts. Its main functions are:

  • ensure equity of outcomes under the SRC Act
  • provide advice to the Minister
  • provide advice and guidance to the jurisdiction
  • grant, extend and vary self-insurance licences.
Page last updated: 16 May 2017